For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

External advisory boards

We are supported by two external boards: the Scientific Advisory Board and the Board of Trustees. They serve as sounding boards for the IAS management.

The Scientific Advisory Board advises on the Institute’s research strategy and assists in establishing strategic national and international connections. The Board of Trustees helps to increase the Institute’s impact and build our visibility within society at large.

Meeting of the Scientific Advisory Board and Board of Trustees, 8 Sep 2017.

Current members of the Scientific Advisory Board

Bertil Andersson

President at the Nanyang Technological University / former Chief Executive of the European Science Foundation in Strasbourg 

Robbert Dijkgraaf 

Director and Leon Levy Professor at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton / Distinguished University Professor at the UvA

David Krakauer 

President and William H. Miller Professor of Complex Systems at the Santa Fe Institute

Helga Nowotny

Professor emerita Social Studies of Science at ETH Zurich / former President of the European Research Council / chair of the ERA Council Forum Austria

Current members of the Board of Trustees

Femke Halsema

Mayor of the City of Amsterdam

Gabriela Ramos

OECD Chief of Staff and Sherpa to the G20

Alvin Roth 

Nobel Prize Laureate, the Craig and Susan McCaw Professor of Economics at Stanford University / the Gund Professor of Economics and Business Administration Emeritus at Harvard

Sir Ratan N. Tata

Entrepreneur and philanthropist / Honorary Doctor of the UvA 

Tjark Tjin-A-Tsoi

Director-General of Statistics Netherlands (CBS)